Tredyffrin Easttown Historical Society Home : Tredyffrin History : Railroads : Main Line Use the links at left of the article to return.

Daylesford

“Daylesford Station was the last stop to be created between Overbrook and Paoli, established ca. 1890. Somewhat of an afterthought, it is the only stop on the line not to have its own enclosed station structure. It appears that Daylesford was built simply as an in-between stop in the middle of the stretch from Berwyn and Paoli; its inclusion on the line roughly preserves the idea of having one station per mile.

The only Pennsylvania Railroad structure at Daylesford Station was a shelter typical of those found at nearly every other Main Line station, but significantly shorter at two bays in length. It was situated on the south side of the tracks for inbound commuters; the north side is the only Main Line platform to lack any type of structure. To provide some shelter, the shed at Daylesford was partially enclosed, with windows facing the tracks.” [Greg Prichard]

Daylesford Station

Earliest known photo of Daylesford Station, looking from Oak Knoll.

semaphore

Operating the semaphore, 1914

Photographs courtesy of John P. Hemcher & Philip E. Hemcher